skip to Main Content

Amer Ari Intercollegiate Golf Tournament History

Waikoloa Beach Resort hosted the Amer Ari Intercollegiate golf competition. Top college teams and future PGA TOUR stars competed on the world class golf courses. The event was free to the public and an exciting opportunity to watch great golf potential in a robust multi-day competition.

“The Amer Ari was one of the best collegiate tournaments in the country,” said Arizona State University coach Tim Mickelson. “It had one of the strongest fields every year and simply participating in the event gave the college players a great feel of where they fit in college golf. If you could win the Amer Ari, you knew you were in elite company.”

Best Collegiate Golf Teams & Individuals

Oklahoma State Cowboys 2019 Champions
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State Cowboys - 2019 Individual Champion
Oklahoma State 2018 First Place Team
Justin Suh, 2018 First Place Individual University of Southern California
Pictured with Mr. Amer Ari is Kevin Ginoza PGA, Director of Golf Waikoloa Beach Resort Golf.
2017 First Place Individual Champion Fredrik Nilehn
2017 First Place Champions Texas Tech
2016 Individual Aaron Wise University of Oregon
2016 Team USC
2015 Team Arizona State University
2014 Team Oklahoma State
2012 Team university of Texas *This was Jordan Spieth's sophmore year at the University of Texas just before deciding to go professional in 2013.
2011 Team Oklahoma State
2005 Individual Anthony Kim Oklahoma: State
2005 Team Georgia Tech
2004 Individiual Adam Meyer TCU
2004 Team UCLA
2002 Team Georgia Tech
Image Courtesy of Michele Blunck UH Hilo

A History of Amer Ari Golf Champions

Year Team Individual Medalist
1992  Oklahoma State Craig Hainline (Oklahoma State)
1993  Nevada-Las Vegas Alan Bratton (Oklahoma State)
1994  Arkansas Todd Dempsey (Arizona State)
1995  Arizona State Notah Begay (Stanford)
1996  Oklahoma State Craig Hanell (Arizona State)
1997  Oklahoma State Jim Skinner (Southern Methodist)
1998  Nevada-Las Vegas Bill Lunde (Nevada-Las Vegas)
1999  Nevada-Las Vegas James Watt (Nevada-Reno)
2000  Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech), Carlton Forrester (Georgia Tech)
2001  Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech), Bryce Molder (Georgia Tech)
2002  Texas Sprague Kolp (Nevada-Reno)
2003  Georgia Tech Troy Matteson (Georgia Tech)
2004  UCLA Adam Meyer (Texas Christian)
2005  Georgia Tech Anthony Kim (Oklahoma)
2006  Oklahoma State Tyler Leon (Oklahoma State)
2007  Georgia Tech Cameron Tringale (Georgia Tech)
2008  Oklahoma Jonathan Moore (Oklahoma State)
2009  Stanford Jesper Kennegard (Arizona State)
2010  Southern California Nick Taylor (Washington)
2011  Oklahoma State Daniel Miernicki (Oregon)
2012  Texas Jeffery Kang (USC), wins playoff over Jordan Spieth
2013  UCLA/Washington Dominic Bozzelli (Auburn)
2014  Oklahoma State Jordan Niebrugge (Oklahoma State)
2015  Arizona State Cheung-Tsu Pan (Washington)
2016  Southern California Aaron Wise (Oregon)
2017  Texas Tech Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech
2018 Oregon State University Justin Suh, University of Southern California
2019 Oklahoma State Cowboys Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State Cowboys
2020 Pepperdine University William Mouw, Pepperdine
Back To Top